Our web site is undergoing a transformation. During this period, you may encounter some intermittent outages. Please check back with us often for the new updates.

Skip to Main Content

The NTIS Advisory Board

The National Technical Information Service Advisory Board was established by the Secretary of Commerce pursuant to Section 212(c) of the National Technical Information Act of 1988 (15 U.S.C. 3704b(c)) in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (5 U.S.C. App. 2).


The NTIS Advisory Board reviews the general policies of NTIS, including those regarding fees and charges for its products and services.  Drawing upon the expertise of its members, the Advisory Board advises the Secretary of Commerce and the Director of NTIS on such policies.  It also provides guidance regarding customer needs, trends in the information industry, and changes in the way NTIS customers acquire and use its products and services.

Notices of Upcoming Meetings

Notices of upcoming meetings of the NTIS Advisory Board are announced in the Federal Register.


The NTIS Advisory Board consists of a Chairperson and four other members appointed by the Secretary of Commerce. The members are appointed for three-year terms and serve at the discretion of the Secretary, meeting at least once every six months at the call of the Director of NTIS. Following is a list of the current members of the NTIS Advisory Board:

John J. Regazzi

Operating Partner, Professional Information Services and Workflow Solutions Industries, Akoya Capital Partners. Dr. Regazzi has previously served as Dean Emeritus and Professor, College of Information and Computer Science, Long Island University. Dr. Regazzi is a former CEO, Elsevier, Inc., a leading publisher of science and health information. H$ is also a member of various boards and foundations and holds a Ph.D. from Rutgers University. Dr. Regazzi serves as Chairman of the NTIS Advisory Board

Jose-Marie Griffiths

President, Dakota State University. Dr. Griffiths previously served as Vice President for Academic Affairs, Bryant University, and formerly as Professor and Dean, School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Dr. Griffiths has also served on the National Science Board and the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC). She has a Ph.D. in Information Science from University College, London.

Judith C. Russell

Dean of University Libraries, University of Florida. Ms. Russell formerly served as the Superintendent of Documents, US Government Publishing Office (GPO), and Deputy Director of the National Commission on Libraries and Information Science. Ms. Russell has extensive experience in information policy and the administration of information dissemination programs.

MacKenzie Smith

University Librarian, University of California, Davis. Ms. Smith formerly served as the Associate Director for Technology, MIT Libraries, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Ms. Smith is the author of numerous technical articles and previously served in a number of positions related to digital programs at the Harvard University Library Office for Information Systems.

Robert A. Friedenberg

Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Xeelee Group LLC, a consultancy to help companies get practical value out of enabling information management technology. Dr. Friedenberg previously served as Chief Technology Officer and Senior Vice President, Salient Federal Solutions, and Chief Information Officer and Executive Vice President, Secure Mission Solutions. Dr. Friedenberg has a Ph.D. in Physics from Case Western Reserve University and an M.B.A. from New York University.


NTIS Advisory Board Minutes

Minutes, December 7, 2015

Minutes, April 24, 2015

Minutes, October 31, 2014

Minutes, April 25, 2014

Minutes, November 1, 2013

Minutes, April 19, 2013

Minutes, October 26, 2012

Minutes, February 10, 2012

Minutes, February 1, 2011

Minutes, October 30-31, 2008

Minutes, January 30-31, 2008

Minutes, October 18, 2006


This page has links to a PDF file, Adobe Acrobat Reader required.

Adobe Reader

Back to top